Page 1 of 1

Blank edit screen ? Smartformer Gold

PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 9:01 am
by DK_Denmark
Hi, i been using Smartformer Gold for many sites, and at one site, i see that the "edit formlayout screen" it's just blank ? ...anyone seen this before, and what did u do about it ? ..

It's lastest version of smartformer and lastest version of Joomla 2.5

Re: Blank edit screen ? Smartformer Gold

PostPosted: Mon Jul 08, 2013 7:25 pm
by IToris team
Hi DK_Denmark,

That might happen if SFG can't load XML config files. To check it open URL:
http://{your-site}/administrator/components/com_sfg/js/sfg_plugins.xml

Replace {your-site} with your doman. If you see 403 Forbidden then XML files are blocked.

Temporarily rename .htaccess file (located in Joomla's root) to tmp.htaccess. Then check the URL above again. If browser opens it SFG will be working. In this case look for a rule in the .htaccess which blocks XML and comment it.

Otherwise, ask your ISP hosting provider why the URL is forbidden.

Regards,
ITORIS team

Re: Blank edit screen ? Smartformer Gold

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2017 5:44 pm
by prazgod
This is actually YOUR problem ITORIS in not understanding how web browsers, and web servers interpret URLS.

As your url ends in a .xml - the server will attempt to locate that as a FILE, fail, and then load the Joomla Admin Login page.

If you rearrange the params, so that the url doesnt end in a XML then the link works and the ajax loads.

WORKS:
/administrator/index.php?option=com_sfg&config=/sfg_plugins.xml&task=getconfig

DOESNT WORK
/administrator/index.php?option=com_sfg&task=getconfig&config=/sfg_plugins.xml

Re: Blank edit screen ? Smartformer Gold

PostPosted: Wed Mar 01, 2017 5:55 pm
by IToris team
Hi prazgod,

Your web-server isn't configured properly. "sfg_plugins.xml" should be considered URL argument and taken as $_GET['config'] in PHP. In your case your server considers it a file name which is wrong because the file is index.php
/administrator/index.php?option=com_sfg&task=getconfig&config=/sfg_plugins.xml

If you can't sort it out with your host you may add "&" at the end of the URL. In file /administrator/components/com_sfg/js/sfg.js AFTER:
Code: Select all
function loadXMLFile(xmlfile) {

ADD:
Code: Select all
xmlfile += '&';


and flush static cache if you have any on the server.

Best regards,
ITORIS team

Re: Blank edit screen ? Smartformer Gold

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 2:21 pm
by AppJetty
IToris team wrote:Hi prazgod,

Your web-server isn't configured properly. "sfg_plugins.xml" should be considered URL argument and taken as $_GET['config'] in PHP. In your case your server considers it a file name which is wrong because the file is index.php
/administrator/index.php?option=com_sfg&task=getconfig&config=/sfg_plugins.xml

If you can't sort it out with your host you may add "&" at the end of the URL. In file /administrator/components/com_sfg/js/sfg.js AFTER:
Code: Select all
function loadXMLFile(xmlfile) {

ADD:
Code: Select all
xmlfile += '&';


and flush static cache if you have any on the server.

Best regards,
ITORIS team


Thanks for solution. I think it will help to many others.